Click here to go to our home page!
WWW  Super70s Awesome80s
FORUMS | Culture | Movies | Music | News | Sports | Sci/Tech | Timeline | TV

NFL Draft in the Awesome80s

By Patrick Mondout

As with any slot in the draft, number one overall picks have been both hits and misses. However, its more memorable when its either a big miss (like Kenneth Sims or Aundray Bruce) or a big hit (like John Elway, Bruce Smith, and Troy Aikman.

We have complete coverage (including round by round selections and some analysis) for each year. Select a year from the table below, which also lists number one overall picks for each season of the Awesome80s (figures for the Super70s are here).

Year Player, Position School Team Years Pro Bowls
1980 Billy Sims, rb Oklahoma Detroit 5 3
1981 George Rogers, rb South Carolina New Orleans 7 2
1982 Kenneth Sims, dt Texas New England 8 0
1983 John Elway, qb Stanford Baltimore 16 10
1984 Irving Fryar, wr Nebraska New England 15 5
1985 Bruce Smith, de Virginia Tech Buffalo 18 11
1986 Bo Jackson, rb Auburn Tampa Bay 4 1
1987 Vinny Testaverde, qb Miami, (Fla.) Tampa Bay 16 2
1988 Aundray Bruce, lb Auburn Atlanta 11 0
1989 Troy Aikman, qb UCLA Dallas 12 6



Photo by Lou Sauritch, 2006

Draft Success: Al Davis picked a pair of Awesome80s Heisman Trophy winners in Marcus Allen (#10 overall, 1982) and Tim Brown (pictured, #6 overall, 1988).

NFL Collectibles!
NFL Memorabilia!
Vintage Topps football cards!

Register on eBay for free today and start buying & selling with millions each week!
FORUMS | Culture | Movies | Music | News | Sports | Sci/Tech | Timeline | TV

Copyright 1994-2017, All Rights Reserved.
Use of this site is subject to our Terms of Service.
Privacy Statement

Logos and team names may be trademarks of their respective franchises or leagues. This site is not recognized, approved, sponsored by, or endorsed by the NFL, NBA, NCAA, NHL, MLB, NASCAR, the PGA or any sports league or team. Any marks, terms, or logos are used for editorial/identification purposes and are not claimed as belonging to this site or its owners.